



Tel: 0207 253 0300 Fax: 0207 490 3001 office@cprelondon.org.uk www.cprelondon.org.uk

CPRE London Branch AGM and Public Meeting 2019

Date: Thursday 23 May 2019, 6-8.30pm

Venue: The Gallery, 77 Cowcross Street, Farringdon, EC1M 6EJ

Programme

5.45pm Registration and welcome

6.00pm Annual General Meeting

6.30pm Presentations and discussion of *Your right to the city - do we need*

an urban right to roam?

As London develops and becomes more densely populated, pressure on green spaces and the wider public realm will only grow. How can we improve public access in London? Do we need an urban equivalent to the rural right to roam? A discussion with *Professor Antonia Layard* (Bristol University), *Kate Ashbrook* (Open Spaces Society), *Anna Minton* (author Ground Control and Big Capital), *Daniel Raven-*

Ellison (London National Park City founder) Marion Shoard

(environmental campaigner), a representative from the Ramblers,

and Crispin Truman (Chief Executive, National CPRE).

8.00pm Reception and drinks

8.30pm Close

AGM Agenda

- 1. Apologies
- 2. Minutes of the AGM held on 24 May 2018 enclosed
- 3. Annual Report of the Trustee Board 2018 enclosed
- 4. Annual Accounts & Treasurer's Report for 2018 enclosed
- 5. Election of trustees and honorary officers nominees overleaf and nomination form enclosed
- 6. Appointment of Independent Examiner
- 7. Any other business
- 8. Date of next AGM proposed date Thursday 21 May 2020

CPRE LONDON AGM, Thursday, 23 May, 2019

Item 5 - Election of trustees and honorary officers

The following nominations have been received so far.

Nomination for Vice-President:

None

Nomination for Chair:

Tony Burton CBE (co-opted as trustee in December 2018) - Tony has extensive high-level experience as Vice-Chair of The National Lottery Community Fund (previously the Big Lottery Fund) and of HS2's Independent Design Panel. He was founder and Chief Executive of Civic Voice, Director of Strategy and External Affairs at the National Trust, and Deputy Director of CPRE. He is volunteer coordinator of Neighbourhood Planners.London and an active volunteer in his local community including as Chair of the Wandle Valley Forum. Tony is nominated for the first time.

Nominations for Vice-Chair:

Carol Hamcke-Onstwedder (elected as trustee and Vice-Chair at 2014 AGM) - Carol is a former senior manager in financial institutions with an MBA and an MSc in Development Studies with a specialisation in environmental and natural resource management.

Danny Garvey (elected as trustee at 2017 AGM) - Danny recently retired from BT where he held several leadership positions in sales, marketing, strategy and customer service over a 40 year career. He is a Director of the Moor Park Estate Conservation Area in north west London where he holds the planning brief.

Nomination for Treasurer:

Alex King (co-opted as a trustee and Treasurer in October 2016) - Alex was previously in financial services and now works for GE digital, an international software company. He lives in south London.

Nomination for Secretary:

Joanna Clayton (co-opted as trustee in March 2019) - Joanna is a barrister who has advised a wide range of clients on planning and environmental law. She is currently Planning, Consents and Legal Officer at Sustrans, the national walking and cycling charity She lives in west London. Joanna is nominated for the first time.

Nominations for general board members:

Linda Duberley (elected as trustee at 2017 AGM) - Linda is an award-winning journalist who has worked for national newspapers, international news channels and the UK's leading commercial broadcaster over a 30 year career. She is currently a media trainer and communications consultant. She lives in west London.

Jo Ellingham - Jo is Public Health Policy Officer at the London Borough of Southwark. She is a Chartered Town Planner and has worked at HTA Design Ltd on regeneration, housing and policy formulation and negotiation for a range of public and private clients. She lives in south London. Jo is nominated for the first time.

Neil Sinden, Director, CPRE London 10 April, 2019