Minutes of the CPRE London Annual General Meeting on 24 May 2018 at 77 Cowcross Street, London EC1M 6EJ at 18.00hrs

Present:

Members

Kate Allardyce, Shirley Brihi, Tony Burton, Steve Butters, Bruce Cadbury, Daniel Carey-Dawes, Martin Crookston, Sheryl Devries, Linda Duberley, James Dunnett, Jay Ginn, Paul Hamblin, Carol Hamcke-Onstwedder, Cynthia Jenkins, Diane Kennard, John Lipetz, G. Morgan, Donald Mitchell, Sally Mustoe, Nigel Picken, Nick Rabin, Julie Raeburn, John Rippin, John Sargeant, Shelagh Sejourne, Jane Seymour, Elizabeth Silver, Nick Spickernell, June Stewart, Peter Van Reeth, Robert Woodliff

Non-members

Michael Bach, Steve Dobson, David Ferguson, Tim Fountaine, Julie Futcher, Rosalind Graham-Hunt, Yvonne Griffin, Colin Grimwood, Ruth Holmes, Emma Knowles, Graham Lomas, Tigg Savery, Jenny Schofield

Staff/ volunteers

Sebastian Archer, Brigid Finlayson, Elizabeth Ntambwe, Alice Roberts, Lynne Roberts, Neil Sinden

Speakers/Panel Members

Ben Bost, Patrick Feehily, Lisa Lavia, Jake Tibbetts, Steve Potter, Grant Waters

In the absence of Branch Chairman, John Croxen who had sent his apologies, Dianne Kennard, a Branch Vice Chair, took the Chair for the meeting.

1. APOLOGIES

Apologies had been received from Olive Buckley, John Croxen, Andree Frieze, Danny Garvey, Richard Gibbons, Edward Handley, Alister Hayes, Jenny Jeffiris, Alex King, Pauline Lean, Vivienne and David Orr, Lesley Sorrell, Ruth Savery, Yvonne Sanne, Caroline Swash.

2. MINUTES

Minutes of the AGM held on 25 May 2017 were noted and approved by those in attendance. Proposed by Elizabeth Silver and seconded by Jane Seymour.

3. ANNUAL REPORT

The Annual Report was presented by Dianne Kennard who congratulated staff for their achievements over the year. Resisting the continuing threats to green spaces have been a focus of our work, alongside the preparation of a new strategy and the development of new projects such as Tranquil London. The approval of the Annual Report was proposed by Steve Butters, seconded by Cynthia Jenkins and approved by those in attendance.

4. ANNUAL ACCOUNTS

The Annual Accounts were presented by Vice Chair Carol Hamcke-Onstwedder in the absence of the Treasurer Alex King who was on business in Moscow. The accounts were proposed for approval by Steve Butters; seconded by Cynthia Jenkins and approved by those in attendance.

5. RESOLUTION TO AMEND THE CPRE LONDON CONSTITUTION

Dianne Kennard introduced the proposed amendments to the Branch Constitution. She indicated that the detailed changes had been made available on the CPRE London website

and were summarised in the papers circulated. The changes were intended to tidy up and bring up to date the existing Constitution which had been adopted in 2004, and had been approved by national CPRE and the Charity Commission. She asked if there were any questions. One member was concerned that the change of name from Executive Committee to Trustee Board suggested a less dynamic arrangement and asked if this change was necessary. Neil Sinden indicated that Trustee Board was now the term most commonly used to describe bodies responsible for charity management.

There being no other questions, Dianne Kennard formally proposed the changes to the Constitution of CPRE London as a whole; they were seconded by Carol Hamcke-Onstwedder and approved by all members present with one abstention.

6. ELECTION OF TRUSTEES AND OFFICERS

The Vice Chair Dianne Kennard led the election of trustees. The CPRE London constitution allows for 10 trustees, comprising of 5 officers (Chair, 2 Vice-Chairs, Treasurer and Secretary) and 5 other trustees. The following 8 members have served in this capacity in the past year: John Croxen (Chair), Carol Hamcke-Onstwedder (Vice Chair), Dianne Kennard (Vice Chair), Alex King (Treasurer), Kate Allardyce (interim Secretary), Linda Duberley, Cynthia Jenkins and Danny Garvey. The Vice President Donald Mitchell formally thanked all trustees for their commitment to the work of the branch. Susan Crabtree had been Secretary until going on maternity leave shortly after last year's AGM and had subsequently decided to stand down from this position following a move out of London. She was thanked for her contribution not least her work on reviewing the Constitution.

Nomination forms had been received for all current trustees who stood for re-election. As the nominations did not exceed the number of vacancies there was no need for a ballot. To save time Dianne Kennard suggested that all trustees be re-elected to their current roles *en bloc*. This was formally proposed by Daniel Carey-Dawes and seconded by Jane Seymour.

Dianne Kennard then proposed that Donald Mitchell be re-elected as Vice President; this was seconded by Carol Hamcke-Onstwedder and approved by those in attendance.

Dianne Kennard thanked David Tillett for his work for the branch as independent examiner for our accounts over recent years. David had decided to retire from this role. The Treasurer had identified Judith Brookfield, a qualified accountant, who had offered to take on the role pro bono. Judith's appointment was proposed by Dianne Kennard and seconded by Carol Hamcke-Onstwedder.

7. ANY OTHER BUSINESS

There being no other business, Dianne Kennard proposed 23 May, 2019 as the date of the next AGM; thanked all those in attendance; and called the AGM to a close at 18.35hrs.

A discussion followed on *Tranquil London: improving green and public spaces for health and wellbeing* - a note is available on request.

Kate Allardyce, 30/05/18