Minutes of the CPRE London Annual General Meeting on 25 May 2017 at 70 Cowcross Street, London EC1M 6EJ at 18.00hrs

#### Present:

#### Members

Kate Allardyce, John Archer, Philp Barnes, Richard Barnes, Steve Butters, Stephen Cooper, Susan Crabtree, John Croxen, Sheryl Devries, Linda Duberley, James Dunnett, Paul Enock, Edward Glynn, Carol Hamcke-Onstwedder, Cynthia Jenkins, Diane Kennard, Alex King, John Living, Clare Million, Paul Miner, Donald Mitchell, Elizabeth Nuckowska, Julie Raeburn, Tristan Rodgers, Jane Seymour, Elizabeth Silver, June Stewart, Caroline Swash, Rosie Whicheloe

### Non-members

Michael Allsop, Kate Ashbrook, Keith Bilton, Carolyn Brown, Simon Cheshire, John Edwards, Carol Fisk, Tim Fountaine, Bill Fraser, Alison Fure, John Gillett, Rob Gray, Lucy Grevers, Paul Hamlyn, John Lavery, Ray Liffen, Brid O'Dwyer, Nigel Picken, Krishna Siva, Kim Thompson, Paul Westhead, Glynne Williams, Robert Woodliff Staff/volunteers

Neil Sinden, Catherine Maguire, Alice Roberts, Gilka Rocha Panel Members

Sian Berry AM, Mathew Frith, Nicky Gavron AM, Michael Smythe

### 1. APOLOGIES

Maria Devereaux, Patrick Griffin, Stan Jones, David Loftus, Tricia Moxey, Sally Mustoe, B Saunders, Peter York had all sent apologies.

### 2. MINUTES

Minutes of the AGM held on 19 May 2016 were noted and approved by those in attendance. Proposed by Carol Hamcke-Onstwedder; seconded by Elizabeth Silver.

# 3. ANNUAL REPORT

The Annual Report was presented by the Chair who thanked the staff for their hard work in 2016, particularly in producing two important reports on the Green Belt. The Annual Report was proposed for approval by Carol Hamcke-Onstwedder; seconded by Carol Fisk and approved by those in attendance.

#### 4. ANNUAL ACCOUNTS

The annual accounts were presented by the Chair and proposed for approval by Steve Butters; seconded by Carol Hamcke-Onstwedder and approved by those in attendance.

# 5. ELECTION OF TRUSTEES AND OFFICERS

The Chair led the election of trustees. The CPRE London constitution allows for 10 trustees, comprising of 5 officers (Chair, 2 Vice-Chairs, Treasurer and Secretary) and 5 other trustees. The following 7 members have served in this capacity in the past year: John Croxen (Chair), Carol Hamcke-Onstwedder (Vice Chair), Elizabeth Silver (Vice Chair), Alex King (Treasurer), Susan Crabtree, Dianne Kennard, and Cynthia Jenkins. Apart from Elizabeth Silver, who having been elected in 2012 has served a full five year term, all current trustees stood for re-election. Elizabeth was thanked for her work for the branch and it was proposed that Dianne Kennard takes up the vacancy for Vice Chair. In addition,

three new trustees were proposed for election on the recommendation of current trustees: Linda Duberley, Danny Garvey and Kate Allardyce.

John Croxen proposed that all trustees be re-elected to their current roles *en bloc*; seconded by Carol Hamcke-Onstwedder and approved by those in attendance.

John Croxen proposed that Dianne Kennard be elected as Vice Chair; seconded by Susan Crabtree and approved by those in attendance.

John Croxen proposed that Linda Duberley be elected as a trustee; seconded by Dianne Kennard and approved by those in attendance.

John Croxen proposed that Danny Garvey be elected as a trustee; seconded by Dianne Kennard and approved by those in attendance.

John Croxen proposed that Kate Allardyce be elected as a trustee and Secretary; seconded by Dianne Kennard and approved by those in attendance.

John Croxen proposed that Donald Mitchell be re-elected as Vice President; seconded by Dianne Kennard and approved by those in attendance.

John Croxen proposed that David Tillett be re-elected as the independent examiner; seconded by Dianne Kennard and approved by those in attendance.

Carol Hamcke-Onstwedder took the Chair and proposed that John Croxen be re-elected as Chair; seconded by Dianne Kennard and approved by those in attendance.

It was noted that a President is also permitted by the branch Constitution and suggestions for suitable candidates were requested from members.

### 6. NEW DIRECTOR

The Chair introduced Neil Sinden as the new Director of CPRE London, who said he was delighted to be appointed to the role. Neil praised the important work of the branch in challenging the threats to green spaces in the city and indicated it was important to complement this with work to increase and improve green spaces and promote their value to urban communities.

# 7. ANY OTHER BUSINESS

No other business was noted. The Chair thanked all those in attendance and called the AGM to a close.

Thursday 24 May, 2018 was proposed as the date of the next AGM.

A discussion followed on the future for green spaces in London - note available on request.

Susan Crabtree, 15/06/17